Modes of Practice

Now that we have looked at fields of practice—overall awareness in daily life and the four fields of family, work, society, and the environment—we will look at four different modes of practice:

  • Extending compassionate action
  • Exploring new terrain
  • At ease amid activity
  • Spreading joy in ten directions

As you can see, the modes are paths that can be taken within each of the fields of practice. (For example, you can extend compassionate action within the family, in the political realm, and to the environment.)

Cultivating awareness in daily life   Moving into the world
Embracing family   Extending compassionate action
Working with others   Exploring new terrain
Participating in politics   At ease amid activity
Caring for the Earth   Spreading joy in ten directions