The Four Foundations of Mindfulness

1 0f 1


In the Satipatthana Sutta the Buddha taught the four foundations of mindfulness as the basis of all meditation practice. This sutra is the basis for the mindfulness practices of all Buddhist schools.

In this lesson you are introduced to the four foundations of mindfulness:

  • mindfulness of body
  • mindfulness of feelings
  • mindfulness of mind
  • mindfulness of dharmas

Note: This is a brief introduction to an important teaching worthy of further study. To begin further exploration of the four foundations of mindfulness, see Trungpa Rinpoche's teachings from The Heart of Buddha.

Mindfulness of body

Mindfulness of feeling

Mindfulness of effort


Mindfulness of mind