By buying from the DharmaNet Market you help support DharmaNet. Thanks.



2  3

Teaching of the Great Mountain: Zen Talks by Taizan Maezumi
Taizan Maezumi Roshi

Based on dharma talks given by Maezumi Roshi in 1987, Teaching of the Great Mountain presents his teachings in the imitable style of "live words." The first collection of talks given by Maezumi Roshi, Teaching of the Great Mountain includes: The Echoless Valley (based on three talks given on the Sutra of the Seven Wise Sisters), The Koan Mu, Kanzeon Bodhisattva (also known as Kwan Yin), and the Zen Art of Just "Sitting."


The Hazy Moon of Enlightenment: Part of the On Zen Practice Series
Taizan Maezumi

The authors' previous book, On Zen Practice, was conceived as the essential primer for beginning Zen practice, offering insight to every aspect of Zen training. The Hazy Moon of Enlightenment takes readers to the next level, exploring some of Zen's most subtle and sophisticated topics.

Crooked Cucumber: The Life and Teaching of Shunryu Suzuki
David Chadwick

Shunryu Suzuki is known to countless readers as the author of the modern spiritual classic Zen Mind, Beginner's Mind. This most influential teacher comes vividly to life in Crooked Cucumber, the first full biography of any Zen master to be published in the West. To make up his intimate and engrossing narrative, David Chadwick draws on Suzuki's own words and the memories of his students, friends, and family. Interspersed with previously unpublished passages from Suzuki's talks, Crooked Cucumber evokes a down-to-earth life of the spirit. Along with Suzuki we can find a way to "practice with mountains, trees, and stones and to find ourselves in this big world."

Sitting with Koans: Essential Writings on the Zen Practice of Koan Study
John Daido Loori and Tom Kirshner

The Zen tradition has just two main meditative practices: shikantaza, or "just sitting"; and introspection guided by the powerful Zen teaching stories called koans. Following up on his previous book, The Art of Just Sitting,, John Daido Loori's new anthology illuminates the subtle practice of koan study from many viewpoints. Section one examines the history of the study and use of koans in China and Japan, with essays from such important contemporary Zen scholars as Heinrich Dumoulin ("Five Houses of Zen)." Section two includes writings from the masters of Japanese Zen such as Hakuin Ekaku's "The Voice of the Sound of One Hand." Section three vividly portrays the living tradition of koan introspection today in East and West in such pieces as Sokei-an Sasaki's "Ninth Koan." These scholars clarify the nature of one of Zen’s most enigmatic forms, making the book useful to those with casual interest and indispensable to students of Zen.

Flowers Fall: A Commentary on Zen Master Dogen's Genjokoan
Hakuun Yasutani

Written by the founder of Japanese Zen, Eihei Dogen (1200-1253), the Genjokoan is often considered to be the key text within Dogen's masterwork, Shobogenzo. The Genjokoan addresses in terse and poetic language many of the perennial concerns of Zen, focusing particularly on the relationship between practice and realization.

No Beginning, No End: The Intimate Heart of Zen
Jakusho Kwong

In No Beginning, No End, Zen master Jakusho Kwong-roshi shows us how to treasure the ordinary activities of our daily lives through an understanding of simple Buddhist practices and ideas. The author’s spontaneous, poetic, and pragmatic teachings—so reminiscent of his spiritual predecessor Shunryu Suzuki (Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind)—transport us on an exciting journey into the very heart of Zen and its meaningful traditions. Because Kwong-roshi can transmit the most intimate thing in the most accessible way, we learn how to ignite our own vitality, wisdom, and compassion and awaken a feeling of intimacy with the world. It is like having a conversation with our deepest and wisest self.

 2  3