The True Nature of Existence —
Anicca, Dukkha and Anatta

3 of 5

Qualities of the Dharma
The Four Noble Truths
The Noble Eightfold Path
The True Nature of Existence
  The Five Aggregates of Clinging
  Anicca, Dukkha and Anatta
  Dependent Arising
  Kamma, Nibbana and Rebirth


The Sangha
The Buddhist Sangha



Suffering— Dukkhata

Dukkha is both pain and suffering and also the general unsatisfactoriness of conditioned existence. A fundamental reason why existence is unsatisfactory is because it is connected with pain, subject to suffering. The pain and  suffering to a great extent are rooted in impermanence.

We crave for a world where everything that we value and love will remain forever, but when meet the inevitable changes we undergo suffering. The five aggregates themselves are impermanent. We would like to preserve them, to dominate them with our will but when they escape our grasp we meet with dissatisfaction.

You learned about dukkha in Lesson 4, The Four Noble Truths.